Falling in love is a mysterious, wonderful and deeply spiritual experience, everybody has different ways to do it, and it’s finding the other half of one’s self and feeling comfortable and safe. For the first time in my life something was perfect; like dreams, like movies. I don’t know how it happened, because I have always been the invisible girl, so those kinds of experience are not usually in my life.

It was an exhausting and dark night at the university like all of them and I was waiting for the bus earlier because my last class’ teacher did not go, suddenly I received a text message that said: “Where are you? I was passing by your university and I decided to stop and say hi, I will wait for you at the subway station” at that moment I remembered that I did not have minutes to answer the message but also I didn’t have idea about who sent the message, so I crossed the street to go to the Grocery store and to  Add money to my phone in order to answer; when I got into the relatively small green wooden place to asked for it, there were like 3 people first than me and there was just one person assisting, so it took me a lot of time. As soon as I received the message balance of my phone, I answered back the message that I’ve got minutes ago, asking about who was the person that wrote it, however I didn’t get any answers. So, I decided to go to the subway station. I was nervous, but I really wanted to know who was the mysterious person.

When I was walking through the narrow black stone path that leads me to the subway station located in the huge and ecofriendly university, I found a guy, who I had seen before and I couldn’t believe that was him… I hid myself for a few minutes to admire him. He was enjoying the Christmas’s decoration, surrounded by colorful lights, Christmas trees, and he was wearing blue and white short-pants, with brown shoes and with a striped blue shirt that matched with his glasses, he was taller than the last time we met. I remembered that when I was walking towards to him, he turned around and my eyes made a connection with his beautiful medium brown eyes like the first time we kissed, 3 years ago. I felt like if he was managing my nervous system with his eyes, unfortunately this moment was interrupted by the horrible subway sound.

When my mind came back, I realized that he brought me flowers and I was so happy because I had never received flowers in my life. I hugged him and then we started talking about what had happened the last 3 years. He told me about his experience in the army and that he would like to live in Dominican Republic because there is someone who tie him, however abroad he had achieved all his goals.

He invited me to go to the pier to take pure air that was a little far away from where we were and we decided to walk from the university to there by the hands through the busy streets of Gomez Avenue until we arrived to the most beautiful place in the area. When we arrived, I couldn’t stop to admire the combination between the huge blue sea and the strong winds moving his blonde hair and all his clothes. In those hours the place was empty and we decided to take us picture in one of the attractive of the place that was an immense brown wooden an iron seat with the abbreviations of the city’s name. Then he took out a little checkered picnic blanket and guided me to the grass that was a little bit near of the seashore, he put it under a tree and then he took out from his big black backpack McDonald’s food, we spent the whole night talking about the life, books, food, and about how would be our life if he had never gone abroad, we danced, we laugh and we sang in front of the sea. Every moment was perfect.

It was an amazing experience because I felt comfortable with him but then something started to ring and I had to come back to the reality and woke up fast because I was late to go to my English´s class. it was those kind of dreams in which you feel that everything is real and you can feel the emotions. I remember the day in which I had to say good bye, he was part of my life since we were thirteen, and then when everything was excellent, two years after we met, the life took it from me; since that day I have not heard from him and I have never felt in love again, just in my dreams when he is there. Yes, it was a dream, a dream that I would like to make come true…

Written by Horjua De León EIP 2019 UAPA

One thought on “A Day to Remember

Leave a comment