The first time I saw her, I was hiding behind a big box, and I casually got into that house while I was trying to get away from the rain just because I didn’t want to get wet. When she looked at me the only thing I found in her eyes was love, the way she was looking at me made me feel special, but I could not trust her, big monkeys with no fur like her separated me and my siblings from my mother, I haven’t seen her after that and I know that I would never see her again. After that, my brother one day never woke up, he was sleeping for days, and he must have been very tired. I was alone and it was their fault, those big monkeys with no brain inside their big heads.

That girl dried me and gave me some delicious milk. She thinks she will earn my trust in that way, she also put some medicine in my wounds. Today that girl had a discussion with her leader (I think is her mother), they were talking about me, the girl won and I will stay here. She called me “Noir” which is black in French, because I’m black; she is not original at all.

I have been here for six months already. The leader gives me delicious food every day. I love when she gives me avocados because I love avocados. The girl sleeps with me in my bed every day, but I think the leader doesn’t like that idea. I like to bother her when she is doing her homework, I need attention. The girl is annoying sometimes with her stupid photos and she is always calling me by that stupid name, but I always ignore her. I like playing with the coughs and the curtains, it’s really funny. I’m so happy now, I’m not alone anymore and I have a family again, I am very thankful with the girl and the leader for everything they have done for me that’s why I always bring them what I caught outside like mice and lizards. I love them (Don’t tell them I said that, I had a reputation to keep).

Written by Laura Adames EIP 2019 UAPA

Leave a comment